Bishop Introduces Resolution Affirming Right to Work Laws

September 3, 2021
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Rep. Dan Bishop (NC-09) introduced a resolution affirming the importance of states’ Right to Work laws in response to Democrats including radical provisions of the PRO Act in Speaker Pelosi’s $3.5 Trillion socialist spending package.

“American workers should be free to do their jobs without Democrats forcing them to fund Leftist political causes. Right to Work laws are an important safeguard against this attack on freedom, and it’s why twenty-seven states, including North Carolina, have implemented these laws. The Democrats’ plan to include these radical provisions that force workers to fund unions and their pet political activities in their $3.5 trillion socialist spending spree is an appalling overreach. My resolution will ensure that it doesn’t happen, protecting workers’ rights across the country,” Rep. Bishop said.

The PRO Act renders 27 states Right to Work Act laws void and creates mandated automatic dues for union membership even if a worker chooses not to join the union. These dues are often used to fund the political activity of liberal special interest organizations like Planned Parenthood and the Clinton Foundation. Democrats plan to include these provisions in the $3.5 trillion Budget Reconciliation package.

This Resolution affirms Members of Congress’ commitment to preserving, promoting and protecting worker’s rights, and was introduced with 40 original cosponsors listed below.

Cosponsors: Rep. Scott Perry, Rep. Austin Scott, Rep. Rob Wittman, Rep. David Rouzer, Rep. Louie Gohmert, Rep. Garret Graves, Rep. Patrick McHenry, Rep. Bob Good, Rep. Tom Tiffany, Rep. William Timmons, Rep. John Joyce, Rep. Matt Gaetz, Rep. Darrell Issa, Rep. Ted Budd, Rep. Rick Allen, Rep. Mariannette Miller-Meeks, Rep. Joe Wilson, Rep. Byron Donalds, Rep. Randy Weber, Rep. Stephanie Bice, Rep. Ronny Jackson, Rep. Jeff Duncan, Rep. Tom Cole, Rep. Debbie Lesko, Rep. Ralph Norman, Rep. Julia Letlow, Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene, Rep. Andy Biggs, Rep. Tracey Mann, Rep. Doug Lamborn, Rep. Jerry Carl, Rep. Yvette Herrell, Rep. Liz Cheney, Rep. Michael Guest, Rep. Jim Baird, Rep. Jim Banks, Rep. Tom McClintock, Rep. Greg Steube, Rep. Brett Guthrie, Rep. Chip Roy.